Book Review // The Warlord By Gena Showalter

54872802

The Warlord by Gena Showalter

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Published: April 20th 2021

Publisher: HQN

Format: Paperback

Pg count: 384 pages

Series: Rise of the Warlords Series #1 (Spin-off of the Lords of the Underworld series)

Genre: Paranormal, Romance, Fantasy

Synopsis

For centuries, Taliyah Skyhawk has prepared to become Harpy General, leader of the deadliest female army in existence. One of the requirements? Remain a virgin. But, for a chance to save her people, she must wed the fearless leader of the Astra Planeta, Alaroc Phaethon.

The time has come for Roc to sacrifice another virgin bride to his god. There has never been a woman alluring enough to tempt him from his path. No warrioress powerful enough to overcome his incredible strength. No enchantress desirable enough to make him burn beyond reason. Until now.

With the clock ticking, war between husband and wife ignites. Except Taliyah never expected the merciless king to challenge the future she once envisioned. She certainly never anticipated the thrill of their battles turning into games… The problem is, only one spouse can survive.

[Synopsis from Goodreads.com]

Review

Who’s ready for some epic Harpy and sexy Warrior love? Oh boy, this book… I love it! As you can tell from my five star rating.

Showalter is back with the crazy and strong independent female characters and the hunky male lead. Taliyah is legendary. The girl knows how to clap back! No man will bring her down. I love how strong she is, not just with fighting but also emotionally, and she’s so loyal. The girl has gone through a lot and has to make some hard choices about what she’s worked for and what is really important. Roc is the same. He’s faced with some hard decisions about his future and his warriors lives, and has to face some hard truths.

That ending though! I did not see a way out for those two I was panicking as I was reading because I didn’t see how they would make it. Oh man, I love how Showalter snuck some stuff in there; wording is important. I also liked the snarky back and forth between all the characters, and of course the other warriors. I can’t wait for their stories.

At first I was worried because the first two chapters felt like an info dump mixed with the plot, but the book got better. This is something that I feel comes from writing the book in such a short period of time since Showalter has a lot of books coming out each year. So her books are more streamlined, but still good. That’s really my only complaint that there were moments that the writing kinda fell flat, but not often once I got past chapter three.

And guess what?! The Lords make an appearance. 🤫

**Trigger Warning: Roc does touch Taliyah without her verbal consent. If that makes you uncomfortable than skip pages 38, 39, & 86. Page numbers change with different editions. The chapters are 3 & 7.**

Quotes

Here are some of my fav quotes from the novel!

“Ugh. Was sexy, stoic and secretly tormented her new type?”

Taliyah Skyhawk

“Enjoy the woman fate selected for him, receiving pleasure from her, before he struck her dead? You are a prize among prizes, Roc.”

Alaroc Phaethon

“Be honest, Roc. You bored your other brides to death.”

Taliyah Skyhawk

“I’m giving you such an amazing view, I should charge by the hour.”

“By that logic, I should charge by the inch.”

Taliyah Skyhawk & Alaroc Phaethon

“Roc, darling. I’m going to be screaming. Of course I’ll think of you.”

Taliyah Skyhawk

“Never tell me I do nothing for you, wife.”

Alaroc Phaethon

“Control you harpies.”

“Aw. Is the Astra not strong enough to handle the job?”

Silver & Taliyah Skyhawk

“What have you done to my Commander?”

“Nothing. I didn’t shoot him in the face again, I swear!”

“I meant he’s smiling. Make it stop. It’s scaring the soldiers.”

Halo & Taliyah Skyhawk

Links

All my reviews // Gena Showalter

Much love & reading,

S❤︎

Leave a comment